Tuesday, December 3, 2013

More great holiday shopping with George C. Clark's miniature rustic twig furniture

George C. Clark's 
miniature rustic twig furniture 
and rocking horses will be featured at the
 Evanston Art Center 
Winter Arts and Crafts Expo 
Rocking Rudolph, miniature rustic twig rocking deer by George C. Clark
(rocker length 8 inches)

Open free daily from November 23 to December 22, 2013
2603 Sheridan Road in Evanston, Illinois on the shore of Lake Michigan.
Gallery hours are 10am to 4pm Monday through Saturday, 
and 12 noon to 4pm Sunday.
For more information see www.evanstonartcenter.org


ABG friends hold Holiday Open House and Studio Sale

In the spirit of celebrating the season...
Anne Farley Gaines and Geoffrey Novelli present:

The Holiday Open House and Studio Sale 
713 West 19th Street, Chicago
paintings in a  variety of media
folding screens
iron sculpture
ceramic and sublimation tiles
jewelry made from glass and acrylic
Refreshments will be served!
Days and times:  
Friday, December 13, from 5 - 10PM
Saturday, December 14, from 12 - 7PM 
Sunday, December 15, from 12 - 5PM
Join in the Holiday Fun!

Sandra Holubow and Judith Roth: Unforgettable Places, Memorable People December 12, 2013 – January 24, 2014

The Koehnline Museum of Art presents:

Sandra Holubow and Judith Roth: 

Unforgettable Places, Memorable People

A fascinating side-by-side look at works by contemporary Chicago artists Sandra Holubow and Judith Roth, each of whom brings a unique perspective to capturing
the city. Roth’s paintings and drawings focus on the individual from head to toe, while Holubow’s paintings and collages examine the collective aspects of community
and “the ties that bind.” Yet, their art is similar in its use of strong form, color, and asymmetry. Unforgettable Places, Memorable People highlights Roth’s expressionistic depiction of the human form and Holubow’s close study of urban environments.

Public Reception: Thursday, December 12, 5 - 8 p.m.
Exhibition runs thru: December 12, 2013 – January 24, 2014

Oakton Community College
Des Plaines Campus
1600 East Golf Road
Des Plaines, IL 60016



Sunday, December 1, 2013

ABG members participate in the Chicago Printmakers Collaborative 24th Annual International Small Print Show and Holiday Sale

 Chicago Printmakers Collaborative

The 24th Annual International Small Print Show
and Holiday Sale


Opening: Saturday and Sunday, December 7 & 8
open 11am - 7pm, both days

PREVIEW the show: Friday, Dec 6, 12-5pm with special holiday open hours:
12-5 Tuesdays - Sundays (December 10 - 22 only)

The exhibition runs through January 31, 2013

(in Lincoln Square, just across the street from the CTA Brown line
stop at Western - easy peasy!)

This show will also feature a HUGE selection of small artist-made cards, books, t-shirts, posters and other DIY gifts.

GORGEOUS, whimsical, fun and AFFORDABLE works on paper. We've been doing this for 24 years, and it just keeps getting freakingly better! Lots of new artists, as well as your veteran faves, from all over the planet. Over 60 artists and hundreds of prints, many under 100 bucks. An opportunity to buy local and meet and support the artists in your community and beyond. Purchase utterly unique and meaningful gifts for your loved ones this holiday. Meet and greet over hot cider, fresh brewed coffee and artist-made treats in an oasis of warmth on Western Avenue!

"Last Queen", Stamp print & collage © Kim Laurel

Participating Artists: Grazvyda Andrijauskaite (Lithuania), Hiroshi Ariyama, Colleen Aufderheide, Chris Blume, Matt Bodett, George Bodmer, Jill Chittenden, Aaron Coleman, Caitlin Driscoll, Zach Fitchner, Christine Gendre-Bergere (France), Sanya Glisic, Karinna Gomez, Misha Goro, Dan Grzeca, Eric Hoffman, Eric Johnson, Phineas Jones, Ryan Kapp, Amos Paul Kennedy Jr., Scott Kiefer, Deborah Maris Lader, Jeff Lassahn, Kim Laurel, Andrea Lauren, Letterform, Kate Lilly, Siu Jane Liu (China), Barton Longacre, Maggie Marlin, Ray Maseman, Michelle McCoy, Bert Menco, Maria Mungai, Ashley Nason, Dennis O'Malley, Mary O'Shaughnessy, Neal Pitak, Artemio Rodriguez (Mexico), Maria Sanchez, Justin Santora, Casey Searles, Andrea Schumacher, Jeff Sippel, Sarah Smelser, Shawn Smith, Chase Sperry, Starshaped Press (Jen Farrell), Megan Sterling, Shawn Stucky, Joseph Taylor, Kyra Termini, Charlie Van Gilder, Kim Vanderheiden, Amy Ventura, Scott Westgard, Cleo Wilkinson (Australia), Nele Zirnite (Latvia)

Chicago Printmakers Collaborative